Singapore History

Summary of Singapore History

3rd AD

- According to Singapore History records, Chinese traveled from China sailed to South East Asia an called it "Puluo Chung". The name is derived from the Malays words Pulau Ujong which means "an island at the end".


1330 AD

- Chinese traders visited the island and called it Damaxi. By that time, there were Chinese and Javanese settlements on the island. The island is later called Temasek which means "Sea Town".


15th century

- Prince Parameswara from Sumatra explored the island and met a three-colored creature. He and his entourage identified the creature as a lion and they called the island Singa Pura which means "Lion City".


15th-18th century:

- The Malayan region was conquered by Portuguese and Dutch during the age of colonization. The Dutch set up ports at Riau Islands but Singapore was not as developed as these ports back then.



- Sir Stamford Raffles, an official from the British India Company identified Singapore being the most strategic location for a seaport. He transformed Singapore into one of the busiest port.



- Anglo-Dutch Treaty was signed. Singapore belonged to the British.

- Singapore prospered and its population grew as migrants from China were coming for opportunities and they settled on the island.



- Singapore was occupied by the Japanese during WWII



- Singapore became fully independent from the British


August 9, 1965

- Singapore became a sovereign state and became the Republic of Singapore.

- The People's Action Party PAP governed the Republic State since its independence.

- Mr Lee Kuan Yew served as the first Prime Minister of Singapore until Nov 1990. Under his leadership, Singapore became one of the most prosperous nation in Asia.

- The second Prime Minister was Goh Chok Tong and Mr Lee Hsien Loong the third Prime Minster since year 2004.


Return from Singapore History to Singapore Culture Home

Return to Singapore-culture-and-attractions Home